Ciacci Piccolomini d’Aragona
The estate has origins that date back to the 17th century and it still keeps its historical heritage in a building called “Palazzo” (Palace) that was built by Fabivs de' Vecchis, Bishop of Montalcino and Abbot of Sant’Antimo Abbey.
After the Bishop’s death, the Palace and the surrounding estate were auctioned according to the Italian law regarding ecclesiastic properties and on September 16, 1868, they were purchased by the countess Eva Bernini Cerretani. On December 31, 1877, the countess Cerretani sold the entire estate to the Ciacci family from Castelnuovo dell’Abate. After the marriage between the count Alberto Piccolomini d’Aragona, a direct discendent of Enea Silvio Piccolomini (Pope Pius II) and Elda Ciacci, the Bishop’s Palace became the Ciacci Piccolomini d’Aragona Palace.
In 1985 the countess Elda Ciacci bequeathed the entire property to Giuseppe Bianchini, farmer of the estate since a lot of years, applying a completely brand new and forefront philosophy production for that period, increasing quantity, quality of wines and opening the export worldwide. Giuseppe, unfortunately passed away in February 2004, left the business to his son and daughter, Paolo and Lucia.
The Ciacci Piccolomini d’Aragona estate is located on the south east slope of the municipality of Montalcino, close to the medieval village of Castelnuovo dell’Abate and to the famous Romanesque Abbey of Sant’Antimo, which dates back to the 11th century.
The entire estate, extending over 220 hectares of which 55.5 are in vines and 40 in olive groves, has all the typical characteristics of the Tuscan countryside adorned with rolling hills, pastures and woods with unforgettable colours.
Set between Arna hill and the Orcia River to the south-east, it offers a unique panorama with the beautiful contour of Mount Amiata in the background. Wild animals, scents of flowers and plants and the typical farmhouses dotted around, create a peaceful and calm atmosphere in this area.